Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

New Year, Re-newed Commitment

Every New Year, I take a few minutes to hunt out a copy of Wesley's Covenant Prayer and then pray it afresh.

It is probably, for me, the most beautiful and the most demanding prayer I ever use.  To pray it honestly is risky, scary... God might just hold me to what I have pledged, my year might be difficult and painful and empty rather than healthy, happy and fulfilled, but however it works out, I pledge myself afresh to trust in God who is faithful, dependable and present even when silent, ever when seemingly absent.

Always a trepidatious moment, then as I say these words...

I am no longer my own, but thine.

Put me to what thou wilt, rank me with whom thou wilt.

Put me to doing, put me to suffering

Let me be employed for thee or laid aside for thee,

exalted for thee or brought low for thee.

Let me be full, let me be empty.

Let me have all things, let me have nothing.

I freely and heartily yield all things to thy pleasure and disposal.

And now, O glorious and blessed God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit,

thou art mine, and I am thine.

So be it.

And the covenant which I have made on earth, let it be ratified in heaven.

Amen.

The comments are closed.