Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent is upon us!

Yesterday, being Ash Wednesday, Lent began.   Being away in Birmingham for an all day meeting meant limited web access and no blogging, so I come to Lent a day late.

This year, I'm using a book called "The Word in the Wilderness" by Malcolm Guite, someone I'd never heard of until I stumbled across this book, published by Canterbury Press in 2014.  Each day he offers a poem and a reflection, and so far, just three days in, I have been impressed and stretched, each of which is a good thing.

What I discovered by chance is that it is possible to hear him reading his poems here, which makes them available to anyone who would enjoy listening to them without needing to buy the book!  The words are also there, so if you prefer to read, that's also possible.

Not abstaining from anything this year, and taking a break from organised Lenten disciplines, rather just seeing it as a time to "feed upon the word" whether in scripture or verse.

 

The comments are closed.