By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Stations of the Cross

I am home, and thawing out, after a very wordy Good Friday vigil that, in my opinion, attempted too much and didn't leave enough space for silence.  I am sure some folk loved it, it just wasn't for me.

There were some really thoughtful reflections, for which I was grateful, is it 'ironic' that they were offered by lay women? Or is it, in fact, just the way of things?  Thank you I and A.

Right at the end, the person leading decided to take us on a canter through the Stations of the Cross, stating that there are twelve... erm, nope, there are fourteen (just as a full Tenebrae has 14 candles).

So, just in case you wondered they are...


  1. Pilate condemns Jesus to die
  2. Jesus accepts his cross
  3. Jesus falls for the first time
  4. Jesus meets his mother, Mary
  5. Simon helps carry the cross
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  7. Jesus falls for the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls for the third time
  10. Jesus is stripped of his clothes
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross
  14. Jesus is placed in the tomb


  1. Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane
  2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested
  3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin
  4. Jesus is denied by Peter
  5. Jesus is judged by Pilate
  6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns
  7. Jesus takes up his cross
  8. Jesus is helped by Simon of Cyrene to carry his cross;
  9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem;
  10. Jesus is crucified
  11. Jesus promises his kingdom to the re[pentant thief
  12. Jesus entrusts Mary and John to each other;
  13. Jesus dies on the cross; and
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

The comments are closed.