Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

She flies through the air with the greatest of ease...

Yesterday I had severe collywobbles at the thought of doing the zip slide...

This morning, when I woke up, I had pre-exam nerves at the thought of it...

And then came a real sense of peace, partly it has to be said from imagining all the women who've crossed the great divide into eternity standing at the far side of the Clyde cheering me on... a non-religious 'great cloud of witnesses' in pink tee-shirts.

I recalled the abject fear of diagnosis, and of course anything I felt today was as nothing in comparison.

And it was wonderful, not a single 'jelly leg' moment, no hesitation when the time came to go, just look up, look around and wheeeee! Although the camera didn't capture it, I waved to the crowds below, and thoroughly enjoyed the panoramic views along the Clyde.

I was very touched that one friend came to watch me slide, and looked after my glasses (I feared they might tumble into the Clyde otherwise!), and who came with me for celebratory tea and cake afterwards.

I can honestly say it was THE best fun I've had in a long time, and I would certainly consider doing it again now I know I can do it!

Best of all, I have raised the better part of £600 in sponsorship to continue to support people affected by breast cancer... not a bad day's work!

Comments

  • Well done! You are braver than I am. Just the thought of it makes me squirm but I am sure your invisible host of supporters were cheering you every inch of the way.

The comments are closed.