Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Changing Hands

At some point on Sunday morning I lost my wrist watch... I was sure I had put it on, but when I got to church, it was missing from my wrist.  Much searching has failed to find it, so I have purchased a replacement - an inexpensive watch: I'm only interested in it telling the time not whether it looks especially attractive (it doesn't).

Because I'm left-handed, I've always worn my watch on my right wrist - when I was given my first watch at the age of eight (my parents having decided I was sufficiently competent at telling the time, and sufficiently trustworthy neither to overwind or lose it) my Mum fastened it to my right wrist and that was that.

It's always been a positive,, if atypical, choice - during exams I could check my watch and carry on writing, something I thought might be tricky if pen and watch were on the same side.

However, I suspect that the reason I lost - and didn't notice I had lost - my watch was because, for the past several years, I've worn it very 'loose' to avoid adding to the lymphoedema in my right arm.  When I tried on the new watch yesterday, and did it up properly (not tight, just not really loose), I could feel the effect of the tightness - not good!

So I've changed hands... my left wrist is now adjurting itself to the strange sensation of having a watch strapped to it.  My mind is trying to remember to 'look left' rather to to 'look right'.  No doubt in a few days it'll all feel quite normal, but for now I'm choosing to name the strangeness.

Perhaps that's some sort of metaphor for something - it certainly is for me as I reflect on the recent changes in my own life.  Maybe by naming the strangeness rather than hiding (or denying?) it, it will resolve more healthily than otherwise.

And if anyone happens to find a cheap 'white metal' bracelet watch lying around, let me know!

Comments

  • Strange, isn't it? Even now, a full twelve months on from the post-broken-arm nerve damage to my left wrist that prompted me to move my watch to my right wrist, it still feels strange. A few weeks ago I accidentally put it back on my left wrist while rushing out to work and only noticed when the pins and needles started a few minutes later.... E

The comments are closed.