Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Manse Life...

I've always felt that a manse should be a welcoming place for whoever drops in - which I don't quite succeed with, as having cats inevitably excludes some folk - as well as being home (and at present a workplace) for me.

In the last few days, it has felt good to have a steady stream of people passing through, reflecting so much of church life.  I seem to have cooked an awful lot of chicken for meat-eaters (though the kitties aren't complaining about the leftovers) the dishwasher has earned its keep, and overall it has been fun.

In the last week I have welcomed...

  • Couple preparing for marriage, to talk through ceremony
  • Bible study group (seven plus me) on Saturday
  • Lunchtime meeting (seven plus me) on Sunday
  • Manse Meal (eight plus me) last night
  • Trustees meeting (six plus me) preceded by meal for some, tonight

This may explain partly why I am tired this morning (though the joys of relentless hot flushes and night sweats are a major factor).  However, it is 'good tired' the tired that comes from 'things well done'. 

It's been lovely to share with folk in so many different ways, some serious and some social, in the context of 'home'.

Having now completed three 'manse meals' and with the next one in the planning phase, I feel content that this was a 'good thing' to introduce, and hope it continues to be as much fun going forward.

Manse life feels good just now, and I am grateful for eveyone who makes it so.

The comments are closed.