Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Remember, Remember, Remember...

This year I have prepared three Remembrance acts of worship for three distinct and separate contexts.

This afternoon it begins with a very low key reflection/meditation on the Shrouds of the Somme, and verses from the gospels about sparrows, hairs on heads and lives laid down.

Sunday morning will include the familiar Act of Remembrance, before reflecting through the lens of 'Honour and Shame'.

Sunday evening will a Communion Service on the theme 'Remember me'

 

If you ask preachers which Sundays they fear or dislike, Remembrance is always high on the list.  So easy to get wrong for someone or some reason.  So much expectation to manage.  So many complex ideas that could, and probably should, be explored.

Doing three in one year has been draining - and that's just the preparation.  By Sunday evening I expect I will be 'done'.

Somewhere I read that courage isn't 'lack of fear,' it's 'being afraid and doing it anyway'.  I find Remembrance scary, but I do it anyway, not because I am courageous, but because it matters that it's done, and done to the very best of my ability.

 

The comments are closed.