Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Resilience and Kindness - A Wedding

The beautiful bride, and the person here-to-forth to be addressed as 'Reverend Madam'! (The MC at the wedding venue addressed me consistently by this title/epithet/title and it amused me greatly)

A lovely day celebrating with a couple I have known for as long as they have been together.  Indeed when they met, I had just arrived in Glasgow and the new boyfriend heard rather a lot about this new minister.

Nine years, and lots of love, laughter, tears and struggles later, they covenanted together in marriage.

I can now add 'in a bar' to the list of places I have conducted a wedding ceremony (a terrace really, but it had a bar to one side).  The hotel was lovely, and the coastal setting truly stunning.  I met some lovely people and had some interesting conversations.  A number of folk went out of their way to thank me for the ceremony, including a (White British) Tibetan Buddhist who was thrilled that I had spoken of 'loving kindness,' which resonated with his beliefs.

On #WorldKindnessDay it was a gift to be asked to speak on 1 Corinthians 13, to draw out the chief characteristics of  true love as resilience and kindness.  It was fun to share some daft gifts with the couple, and a joy to share in the service we had created together.  May they know God's richest blessings in their life together, now and always.

The comments are closed.