Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 9

"Travelling mercies" (or 'journeying mercies') is a phrase that I used to hear a lot in Christian circles.  In some pentecostal circles such prayers are still often heard for visiting preachers, and also for those setting out on long distance travel - far less so if you are getting the bus to town!

Today's reflection was on a jorney by coracle of three Celtic monks from Ireland to what is now England, set alongisde the journey of Mary and Joseph to Bethlehem.  I could not help but hear/read this in tension with the news of the young American missionary killed by the indigenous people of an island off the coast of India when he landed his canoe illegally on their shores.  Had he committed his travel plans to God?  Had people prayed journeying mercies for him? It is easy for me to read the news and see folly, even disrepsect, in his actions, but this was a young man convinced that he was doing that which God called him to do. 

Much pondering for me to do as these stories permeate my subconscious.

The prayer from the book:

Christ, when you were on earth, you walked many miles, travelling from town to town, walking in wildernesses and upon mountains. Wherever I journey today, Lord, may I be aware of your presence with me.  I place my travels into the divine hands and release them into the divine plan. Keep me safe, Lord, as I go from here to there, but above all, whateverhappebns, may I ever know you with me.  Amen.

The comments are closed.