Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 11

A confession - I am not so sure about reading the 'Christmas story' more than a month before the event.  But that's where the book takes us and so today we meet the shepherds and angels on the hills, and a parallel with St Cuthbert who had a similar vision, which prompted him to begin a monastic life.

Shepherds as outsiders, a role that meant they were always on the edge, so that others might be at the very heart of Temple worship - afterall someone had to ensure the supply of sacrificial sheep/lambs.  A wise minister I knew once referred to ministers as 'intentiontal outsiders', as those who are voluntarily on the edge of the commnuity of which they may seem to be at the heart.

Today is the feast of Christ the King, the one Sunday I almost always take off (I preached it every year as a student and have done guest preaches on it a few times).  It is my 'intentional apartness' before the liturgical Advent season begins.  I wonder if, today, as I sit on my metaphorcial hillside (which includes attending a couple of services) I may encounter, unexpectedly, something of the glory of God.

 

The prayer we are offered for today:

 

Holy, good Shepherd, as you watch over your flock, of which I am a part, I trust that you know what is best for me, and I commit to getting to know your voice better and following you wherever you lead me.  Amen.

The comments are closed.