Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 14

Possibly the deepest (for me) reflection sdo far...

Today we turn to the prologue of the fourth gospel, with a focus on the idea tha we are adopted as children of God, and so become, in some small measure divine.

Maybe that's a concept you have fully grasped forever, but I haven't.  Yes, I believe that I am (and we are) made in the image and likeness of God. Yes, I believe, if I don't know what it, means, that we are somehow 'clothed in Christ'.  Yes, I believe that I am a 'child of God', at least by adoption (though also in some sense by ontology).  It had just never struck me that all those things mean, in some small way, I am, therefore, 'God': to be 'of God' is some sense to 'be God'.

I cannot recall which ancient theologian spoke of the 'divine spark' in every human being but I suppose that's what's being hinted at here. I guess, too, it's something of what we mean if/when we speak of Christ being 'born in our hearts' or even 'accepting Jesus into our lives'.  Somehow, I know not how, the divine enters us and transforms us from within.

If this is a valid understanding of what the writer (of the gospel or the Celtic Advent book) then we have incarnation not only in a particular person in a particular place and time, but, potentially at least, in every person in every place and time.

I've always felt very content to be God's 'adopted daughter', to be part of the fmaily but without sharing the 'DNA.' I've always been comforted by the idea that in every human being we glimpse something of the likeness of God, but that doesn't make us mini gods. Now I am challenged to ponder what it might mean if God actually lives in me in some kind of ontological way... that the 'body of Christ' language is not simply metaphor but an actual reality.

I wish I had a brain capable of processing such ideas, but I never did (I always clai that smiling at my philosophy of religion tutor and having a good grasp of English grammar got me through the course!).  Instead, I will allow myself to be awestruck by the idea that 'the WORD became flesh and dwells within us' (even if the Greek may not permit that rendering) .

 

The prayer from the book:

Christ, you stepped out of transcnedent glory and took on human form so that I might transcend my humanity and be clothed in the divine nature.  Help me to see this and to walk this path of becoming more and more like you s you transform me from one degree of glory to the next. Amen.

The comments are closed.