Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Celtic Advent - Day 19

St Patrick's breasplate. I recall learning this when in my teens.  I loved it then.  I love it now.

The idea of binding to (or around) oneself the name of the Trinity, which is strong, faith in Christ, which is powerful, and so on, is an incredible image.

It's tricky to find contemporary imagery that captures the essence of the breastplate - somehow a stab vest or bullet proof vest, which would be a literal equivalent, doesn't really help me much.  Even binding, for some, has very negative connotations.  However, the idea of binding as a protective covering - whether it's a bandage on an injury or a cover on a book - is actually a very positive image.

To wrap myself around in a cocoon of God's grace, mercy and love - that seems a good idea, a positive image on a world of fear and danger.  Perhaps it's like swaddling a baby, of wrapping up warm on a cold winter's day - both of which are quite appropriate images at this time of year.

 

Today the books offers us, for prayer, an extract from St Patrick's breastplate:

I bind unto myself today the strong name of the Trinity, by invocation of the same, the three-in-one and one-in-three.

I bind this day to me forever, by power of faith Christ's incarnation, his baptism in the Jordan river, his death on cross for my salvation; his bursting from the spiced tomb, his riding up the heavenly way, his coming at the day of doom, I bind unto myself today.

After a bit of hunting, I 

The comments are closed.