Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Still Space

The Prayer Room in Glasgow Airport.

When I arrived very early last Thursday morning nothing was open except the Prayer Room.

It's a very quiet, still space in a very noisy, busy place. The sound proofing is incredible, by use of effectively an airlock, no noise from the busy areas gets into the Prayer Room itself.

It's also an inclusive space. No-one may remove or cover the religious artefacts that have been placed there... there are prayer rugs, icons, candles, Bibles, leaflets, and many more.

The stained glass is lovely, incorporating the symbols of the largest world faiths, and some gentle, soothing colours.

I spent a very relaxed half hour in there, praying, reflecting and simply being... when I emerged the departure gates were just opening and I set off on my way to Florence.

Chaplaincy spaces are so important, and so valued by people of all faiths. I'm grateful to God for this space and the time it gave me in the wee small hours.

The comments are closed.