Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

At Home in Lent - Day 20

Nearly half way!

Bathroom scales are the focus today. Along with the phrase 'you have been weighed and found wanting'

Coming from a family where the women have a tendency to be be somewhat generously proportioned, I do have bathroom scales, and they do get used to keep on eye on my weight.  Not, I hope, in an obssessive way, but because I know that I could (and in the past have) put on a lot of weight without even realising it.  The amusing truth is that since I took up Pilates I have gained weight and lost girth as muscle replaces fat.

The point the author makes is that the scales have one simple purpose - to tell us what we weigh. It is up to us what we then do with information.  Do we ignore it, do we become obsessed about it, do we take a responsible attitude to it?

Scales are also an ancient, and continuing, symbol of justice.  Whether Anubis weighs a soul and compares it an ostrich feather, whether it is blind Justice herself, or whether it is the writing on the wall 'Mene, mene tekel upharsin'.  As Christians, judgement is about facing up to reality, to the truth of who and what we are (or are not) and then choosing what we'll do about it.  Confession and absolution are important parts of that - but then it is over to us to live 'better'.

God of justice, who knows, without needing scales, the state of my soul, forgive me where I have messed up, and help me to be or to do what is needful for a more healthy, whole life. Amen.

The comments are closed.