Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

On this day in history...

Ten years ago today I preached for the first time at the church that would become known on this blog as 'The Gathering Place' - it was the Sunday after Low Sunday, and we were just beginning the careful process of discerning whether there might be a 'match' to be made.

I still remember the look of incredulity on the face of the door steward when I said I'd come up from Leicestershire ('lester-sheer')... "'lester-shyre' that's an awffy long way" she said

I also still remember the sense of home-coming, the amusement that having spent several years in HBC (Dibley) I might now be about to spend some in HBC (Weegie).

I remember standing at the corner of Torness Street (near the now closed Western Infirmary) and smiling at the irony of a street sharing a name with the power station I'd worked for/on (at as distance) for more than a decade before trainign for ministry.

This autumn it will be 20 years since I went to Northern Baptist College to start training and 10 since I moved to Glasgow. I find that double anniversary thingy quite significant - more so than perhaps I'd realised until now.

The comments are closed.