Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Culling...

Another fairly ruthless book cull taking place... something like 400 items so far and still some sifting/checking for duplicates to go before I can start reorganising my library.

The logic for keeping has been fairly clear (and owes little or nothing to Marie Kondo or other 'declutter your life' gurus)...

  • Is this a book I need to do my job to the best of my ability
  • Is this a book that is worth keeping because I'd happily lend to to others
  • Is this a book that has significant sentimental value
  • Is this a book I'd like to have by my bed in a care home, hospital or hospice (read nothing into that, it's simply the result of clearing my Mum's flat and then her room)

It's a tad embarrassing how many duplicates I have, to say nothing of the total disorder with books having been reshelved hurriedly when my office was relocated to home.  It will be nice to have space for new books - but I need to think seriously about a one-in one-out policy gong forward.

Comments

  • Very impressed with your efforts Catriona. We're a stone's throw from Moorlands Bible College - when we retire in 2 years, a high proportion of commentaries & theology books will end up there, in the hopes they will benefit the students. The Oxfam Bookshop in Salisbury has had quite a lot of stuff already. I'm selling off my academic books to Ziffit where I can, giving cookbooks to friends, and passing on good quality children's lit to the library. But the shelves are still full...Let us go on encouraging other to good works!

  • Thank you! Sounds like you have good strategies and determination!

The comments are closed.