Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Anam Cara and Pilgrimage

So, today's service brought our summer series on "Aspects of Spirituality" to a close with twin reflections on pilgrimage and soul friendship (anam cara).

I hope the series has been interesting and helpful -  feedback has been very encouraging.  Certainly it has done my soul 'good' and given me space to identify areas of exploration for my upcoming sabbatical year, of which more another time once it's all agreed.

Mentoring, pastoral supervision, spiritual accompaniment/direction, all these are helpful and meaningful, if not quite the 'anam cara' of ancient times.  And so is covenanted community - that very Baptist self understanding that says 'we are pilgrims on a journey, and companions on the road, we are here to help each other, walk the mile and share the load.'  So it was good this morning for each person to take away a small scallop shell, and a card with the song words printed on them.  Simple signs of a profound truth - we are in this together, and the God who has brought us this far will see us all safe home.

Brother, sister, let me serve you,

Let me be as Christ to you.

Pray that I may have the grace

To let you be my servant too.

The comments are closed.