Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Mental Health First Aid

One reason this blog has been so very quiet of late as that I have been very busy with training courses, including two days of Mental Health First Aid.

It was a great course, though could have done with being twice the length to allow us to really dig into any of the topics.

Based on Australian material it uses the acronym ALGEE...

  • Ask about suicide (in Australian version this one is 'assess for risk of suicide or harm')
  • Listen non-judgmentally
  • Give reassurance and information
  • Encourage appropriate profressional help
  • Encourage self-help and other support strategies

I cannot claim suddenly to be equipped to support anyone or everyone I may encounter, but at least I have some ideas what not to say or do, which I guess is helpful in and of itself.

Comments

  • I did this course at pretty much the same time as you, Catriona. I thoroughly agree and would recommend it to all.

The comments are closed.