Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Kingdom by RS Thomas

Some of my readers are kind enough to appreicate my 'prayer doodles' so here's another.

Last night at my GPRL course, one of the resources we were offered to reflect upon/pray with was the poem The Kingdom by R S Thomas.  During the evening I created the doodle below, and then today, at home, the one above.  They aren't art, they are doodles, reflections, prayers... and they work for me!

RST 2.jpg

 

Here's the poem. I wonder what strikes you?

It’s a long way off but inside it

There are quite different things going on:

Festivals at which the poor man

Is king and the consumptive is

Healed; mirrors in which the blind look

At themselves and love looks at them

Back; and industry is for mending

The bent bones and the minds fractured

By life. It’s a long way off, but to get

There takes no time and admission

Is free, if you purge yourself

Of desire, and present yourself with

Your need only and the simple offering

Of your faith, green as a leaf.

The comments are closed.