Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Glory in Grey...

According to the weather App on my smartphone, sunrise in Glasgow was 06:18.  Either it lied, was mistaken, or the sun didn't get the memo.

When I set out at about 06:15 it was already light, that milky-grey slithering from darkness to light without the intervening glory of sunrise.

One of my favourite contemporary morning hymns is Kathy Galloway's 'Today I awake, and Christ is before me' which speaks of the dawn as 'glimmers of gold or glory in grey.'

Perhaps today the Easter hope is just that: 'glory in grey.'

Two hours later, the sky is still silvery-grey, no sign of the sun... The corny play on words of sun and Son, that at sunrise the Son rises, maybe also works here... no sign of the sun, or of the Son, but both have risen.

The comments are closed.