Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Wise Words...

Facebook has an algorithm that shows you what you posted on 'this day' in past years'.  On the whole, I enjoy this reminder of what I have been up to in the seven or so years I've been a 'member'.  I always try to keep my posts positive, and try not to get sucked into the current 'I want to remember this time next year the price of petrol, the things in short supply and what Boris/Nicola/Donald said' memes that are strangely popular.

I've found myself calling to mind over and again the words 'That Paul Bloke' wrote to the Jesus followers in Philippi, which The Message paraphrase renders thus:

"Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse."

Wise counsel, if not always easy, but worth aspiring to each new day.

 

Comments

  • I am increasingly frustrated by Christian friends who keep posting that long list of things happening/not happening right now, which includes the line "The churches are closed". OK I acknowledge that our buildings are closed, but the church of Christ is as alive and active as ever!

The comments are closed.