Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Virtually Everything - or at least Many Things Virtually

Yesterday was due to have been a time-tabling clash, such that I would have been in Bournemouth for the English Baptist Assembly, at the same time as the final retreat day for the Ignatian Course I've been doing in Glasgow.

As things turned out, the Assembly was postponed/cancelled, the planned book launch was done in other ways, and I ended up taking part in a 'virtual retreat day'.

To make it feel like a retreat, I set up my kitchen table with a prayer zone, a craft zone and of course a Zoom zone.  And it worked really well.

When all was done I put everything away and turned my kitchen back into a kitchen.

This morning, I debated doing church from the kitchen rather than the office.  I didn't, because the boundaries are quite important, and the point yesterday was to be in a space that's not my office.

This week I have spent something like 30 hours on/at Zoom events of all shapes and sizes.  There is much that's good and exciting, and there's much that's restricting or frustrating.  It seems you can do virtually anything  virtually... which is probably as well, as to stay safe we need to stay home for a good while yet.

The comments are closed.