Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

"Lean on me," says God - A Poem/Song by Lucy Berry

This beautiful song/poem is available free of copyright/royalties

It seems as though our world is at a halt:

sickness in the air, but no-one’s fault.

Lord, how did this happen overnight?

We are in the dark and there’s so little light….

 

And God said: “Lean on me, lean on me.

I AM here right now, so you can lean on me!

I have been here all along, I will be the One who’s strong,

this is when you lean on me”.

 

Dear God, we’re in a Wilderness for sure,

in a place we’ve never seen before:

lost, and poor in heart and weak of soul!

How is it that we could lose so much control?

 

And God said: “Lean on me, lean on me.

I AM here right now, so you can lean on me!

I have been here all along, I will be the One who’s strong,

this is when you lean on me”.

 

In fear of flood, or flames, or Lion’s Den

That’s when we remember God again.

That’s when we begin to hear God say

“I am with you always. And that means today!

 

So children: Lean on me, lean on me.

I AM here right now, so you can lean on me!

I have been here all along, I will be the One who’s strong,

this is when you lean on me”.

 

God, what a lonely time this is to bear!

Staying in, and thinking no-one’s there.

Lord, You’re always here through all alarms.

How did we forget to climb into Your arms?

 

And God said: “Lean on me, lean on me.

I AM here right now, so you can lean on me!

I have been here all along, I will be the One who’s strong,

this is when you lean on me”.

 

Yes! God said: “Lean on me, lean on me.

I AM here right now, so you can lean on me!

I have been here all along, I will be the One who’s strong,

this is when you lean on me”.

The comments are closed.