Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Grand Day Off - and more Foraging

Windfall apples from Clydebank; blackberries from Yoker and Scotstoun!  It amazes me how few people I see gathering blackberries, and even the odd looks I get when I pause to pick up windfall apples.  Is this a country bumpkin thing?  I don't know, but another great haul!

Today's walk was a little over eleven miles according to the website I used to check it, and it was really good fun - from home up the canal, along the canal to Clydebank, where I am sure I walked almost a mile following the arrows round the shopping centre, and then back along the road via Yoker and Scotstoun.

Truly we are blessed to live in such a beautiful city where, within a mile or two, we have rivers, canals, parks and hills. It was at times a rather wet walk, but it was such a joyful one, with autumn beauty and bounty all around.

Now there is nothing quite like a scalding hot cuppa whilst the blackberries and apples cook!

This sign in Greggs, where I stopped to buy a sandwich for my lunch, made me chuckle... (not very clear - keep apart 2 metres, that's about fifteen sausage rolls)

IMG_8044.jpg

Thank you, God, for autumn abundance!

Comments

  • Lucky you. No apples on my walk but plenty of brambles. They are not so big but they taste sweeter than those in the supermarket and so what if there are a few thorn scratches gleaning them, but then....No pain, no gain. Have to confess my walk does not involve miles. I blame the dog's short legs, but really it is my lazy ones. Ah, well, once upon a distant time I walked my share of miles upon miles. Thank God for the riches all around us. The riches so many don't see.

  • Lucky you. No apples on my walk but plenty of brambles. They are not so big but they taste sweeter than those in the supermarket and so what if there are a few thorn scratches gleaning them, but then....No pain, no gain. Have to confess my walk does not involve miles. I blame the dog's short legs, but really it is my lazy ones. Ah, well, once upon a distant time I walked my share of miles upon miles. Thank God for the riches all around us. The riches so many don't see.

The comments are closed.