Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Seventeenth Blessing

(is it just me who is now losing track of days and dates..?!)

Today's gift was a small, matte finish, gold bauble, now nestled in my Christmas tree. I tried to track down the origins of baubles and, perhaps unsurprisingly, they emerge quite late in time, and are a commercial undertaking to replace the more organic berries, cones, ribbons and candles (always seems dangeous that one!) of past times.

My tree is around thirty years old, it was bought in a department store that is long gone.  Many of my baubles were bought there, but others have been added over time, and many, maybe most, carry memories of people and places. I think this is true for many people - though I was a bit bewildered the other day to see someone walking along the street with two HUGE boxes of baubles - maybe they are just starting out and have a large tree to decorate?  In thirty years, will they look back and remember the day they bought them?

Enjoy your decorations, many or few, and all they mean to you.

The comments are closed.