Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Well, I've had a lovely day...

So, today is my 58th birthday... and every year older is a truly precious gift.

How different from my 48th birthday, which I feared might be my last.

And how much that experience affects my reaction to restrictions imposed to prevent the spread of a horrible virus that kills so many people... better miss one birthday, one Christmas than never have another one.

Yes, it' is complicated.  Yes, there are people for whom this will be the last Christmas (known or unknown) but actually all any of us have is the present (which I read somewhere recently lasts 3 seconds).

So I have had a lovely day.  I walked before the dawn, breakfasted on pastries and coffee, Zoomed with friends, brunched with another friend, ate cake, Zoomed with Sunday school, baked veggie sausage rolls, received and opened gifts and cards, Zoomed with tech folk to do some checks for tomorrow, ate more cake, and , yes,listened to the announcements about restrictions.

Give up festivities for one year - it's really not a big ask, in my opinion.... Better give it miss for one year and have plenty more to look forward to.

Thank you everyone who has made my day special.

The comments are closed.