Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tunnel Vision?

This week, someone suggested a new route for a walk - going through the pedestrian tunnel that passes under the River Clyde.  I was curious - having, in the past, been told very clearly not to go there, because it wasn't safe.

So here I was, about to walk somewhere new, not too far away from the familiar streets of home.

The tunnel is well lit, and well maintained.  It is also estimated at a ten minute walk - five down hill, five up hill - being something like 700m long.

As I yomped along the pedestrian path - separated from the cycle routhe by a strong barrier - I passed three people coming th eother way (it isn't really wide enough, someone has to flatten against the wall/barrier), whilst following two who were some distance ahead of me.

Emerging into the sunlight, I walked back parallel to the river, even discovering a new bit of river-side pathway to explore when it is less slippery underfoot.  And I saw familiar landmarks from different angles - the backs of buildings, thenetrances to car parks, and so on.

So, taking the tunnel walk was a good experience, and one I would repeat, at least in the middle of the day.  I noticed there is an intercom control, which I believe allows access to be regulated, and there is CCTV at each end, so I guess someone would notice if you didn't eventaully emerge!

I am missing my long, early morning walks, it has to be acknowledged, but it is good to get out and make the most of what is on my doorstep.

The comments are closed.