Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Born Among Us - Day 9

This colourful Ethiopian image depicts the Flight into Egypt.  Here, the Holy Family is accompanied by Salome, Mary's cousin, who has acted as her midwife.  The arrow heads sticking upwards represent obstacles put in the way of Mary who according to Ethiopian tradition was deemed a sorceress because of the virgin birth.

Our prayer came from Egypt, and reflected some of the painful tensions faced by Egyptian Christians, whose homeland is so readily associated with the slavery of the ancient Hebrew people. Here is part of it...

My Egyptian heart longs, O my God, for the redemption of my people.  It has been our shame that the oppression of the pharaohs drove the children of Israel to the sea.  But you, my God, who free us from our sins, you who make all things news, chose this same country as a shelter for the holy family, and a home for that one who was persecuted and oppressed that we might have life, and have it abundantly...

... I praise you, my saviour and my redeemer, who takes us out of darkness into your own marvellous light.

The comments are closed.