Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Regional Variations

I remember when I moved to Scotland discovering that there were things I could no longer find in the supermarkets... but over time, and not a lot of it, I forgot about them, and began to enjoy things that were regional and local, at least some of which we new to me.

One of the things I enjoyed - which weren't new, because eons ago my Mum used to make her own - was tattie scones.  So far I haven't found any in Crewe, but they do sell Warburton's potato cakes (also available in Glasgow should anyone wish to test them out!)  and this morning, as I have the treat of a slow start, I also had the treat of a cooked breakfast.

Verdict: the potato cakes are delicious in their own right, but not quite the same as tattie scones.  So, if anyone happens to be visiting me from the Weege, and wants to bring a pack with them...

I wonder what uniquely Crewvian (a word I just made up btw) things I will discover?

The comments are closed.