Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lessons and Carols

Today I have been working on the service of Lessons and Carols for Advent 4, also known, this year as Christmas Eve!

I decided to go totally traditional and use only Bible readings - but which ones?  Looking back over previous years' outlines, I ended up with a list of thirteen scripture passages to choose from.  In the end, I a using ten of them - one as a 'call to worship' and nine to be read in the main body of the service.

Choosing carols was also a good challenge, as usually I've been interspersing 'choir' and 'congregation' but this year it's all 'congregation'... so we begin with some lovely Advent pieces before moving into Christmas and, yes, even Epiphany.

I am looking forward to seeing what folk make of it - a new context is always as challenge as 'everyone' knows what 'always' happens, except the new minister and any of the new folk who have joined or visited us over the past few months.

Just the small matter of the Christingle and Christmas Day left to plan...

The comments are closed.