Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Advantages of a WFH Day...

Today is a Work From Home (WFH) day, which meant I spent my lunch break finishing off the garden tidy-up ahead of this weekend's church barbecue.  In the foreground, to the left of Sasha cat, is a seemingly extraneous stalk... it's actually some self-seeded mint, and very good it is too, I recently used some to flavour some new potatoes.

Hospitality has always been an important aspect of ministry for me... I recently found some photos from a barbecue I held the first year I lived in Dibley, and of course over the fourteen years I was in Glasgow, there were many photos of table settings as I welcomed church folk for roast dinners. I have no idea who will come on Saturday, though I am grateful for one offer of an additional barbecue, another person who has offered to lead some singing, and someone else who has volunteered to organise lifts for those who need them!

In an age of ready meals, take-aways/carry-outs and meals on trays, I am looking forward to the slowness and messyness of a gathering to cook and eat al fresco (or maybe sous parapluies) on a spring Saturday.

Meat ordered for meat-eaters, and some vegan marshmallows to toast... hopefully catering for most!

The comments are closed.