Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Evolvificating Englishish

Now this is total twaddle, so don't expect any great theological or other insights!

Recently in stuff I've been reading, I have come across words that seem to me to have been derived from others that are perfectly adequate to express the same concept.

In a theological paper, the word 'explicate/explicated' was used repeatedly where 'explain/explained' would have served just as well.  Is there such a word, I wondered: the web dictionary tells me there is and that 'explicate' means 'to offer a detailed explanation.'  So there must be potential for more new words for further degrees of explanation - how would you express 'the act of offering a complete explanation'?!

In a report on food safety the word 'disinfectation' was used to described cleaning surfaces.  This the web dictionary does not recognise, but what is wrong with 'disinfection'?  Is there a subtle diffenece I'm missing?  Or has English just gone a bit mad as we keep inventing new words that get longer and longer either as a stand against txt culture or because our vocabularies are not adequate for what we want to say?  I realise that language is always evolvificating (like evolving but more so!) and that Englishish is about as good as it gets, perhaps I'm just getting staid and old but I do wonder sometimes...!

Comments

  • The health service loves to "incentivise". Presumably because the correct word "incite" is rarely used unless followed by the word "violence", which might give us ideas.

    P

The comments are closed.