Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Words Worth Pondering

Today Advent began in Dibley, technically a little early, but the only way to get four prayer lunches in before 25th December!  We are using some of the reflections in the Hilary Faith Jones book Awakenings.  Today we focussed on 'The Visitor.'  In the 'story' - a meditation (reflection really) these words really struck me:

And Gabriel saw the tears roll down [Mary's] cheeks

And forgot for a moment,

To be glorious

And ethereal

 

Wow!  What amazing imagery, what imagination.  How it speaks to us/me about the cost of disicpleship and the impact of human emotion on the celestial heart.  I love the image of Mary weeping as the enormity of what is being said hits her - how real.  I love the idea of a flustered angel forgetting to be glorious and ethereal!  I love the image of God this whole piece gives me.  I look forward to next week and the next reflection - which I will resist the urge to read in advance!

 

The comments are closed.