Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Libraries, bah humbug, and other waffle.

Just got home from a totally unproductive day trip to Manchester!  The good news - apart from 20 mins to get through Alderly it was a good run run each way.

Who hides all the books in libraries, that's what I want to know - they put on all these fancy electronic tags and install fancy databases but the list of a dozen or so books you've come to look at, which are all listed as 'available' are invisible.  And you are are not alone, a twenty-something undergrad (obviously of the keen variety, it's not term time) was speaking to the library assistant about her list of invisible books too.

"Blue 4 is a silent study zone" it said on the door - i.e. death to students who talk!  So I entered to find the two library staff chatting loudly as they shared holiday photos, and as I 'womanfully' laboured to persuade the keyword search to find anything I could use (it is not very good at 'fuzzy matching' let alone wild cards), a whole group of chatting folk sauntered through.  Obviously in post-modernity silent does not mean silent anymore, silly me.

Decided to pop into Blackwell's university book shop.  Great collection of Mr Men/Little Miss books, but nothing on theology or historiography, let alone congregational studies.  Is it too late to switch my field of research...? ;-)

Drove past my old flat which had scaffolding outside - finally the roof is being repaired!  It is now used as offices, and the whole area has changed dramatically from 8 years ago when I moved there.

So, back home, back to Amazon and Google - at least in the quiet of my little office in my little damp house I have only myself to get ratty with.

Comments

  • At the risk of suggesting something you already know, did you know about www.abebooks.com? My other favourite but slow way of getting book is my local library who are fantastic!

  • Hi Graham,
    Thanks. Yes, I do know of abebooks - and a few others such as pendlebury who are also quite good, and eden who aren't so hot. Yes, I agree about local libraries. As I have a British Library card, maybe I just need to get a bit more advance planning and go there more often - at least they have most books, even if getting from here to there is troublesome.

The comments are closed.