Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

What's it all About?

Various Baptist bloggers have been expressing our thoughts on this year's Assembly and leaving comments on each other's posts (I have been as guilty as any).  Some of this has left me wondering about (a) our priorities and (b) how much we think about what we're doing anyway.

Priorities...

  • We heard about migrant workers being exploited in this country and bonded workers overseas
  • We were challenged to think about issues such as sex trafficking
  • We learned about Street Pastors in our cities and towns
  • and so on and so on, so why worry about why one person expresses a preference for quiet over cheering?

What are we doing anyway?

  • What are we doing when we receive minsters who've finished their probationary period?
  • Do we understand the liturgical/symbolic aspects?
  • Do we even care?  Or are our likes the be all and end all?

So, this is my take on what I think happened for me last Sunday, liturgically, spiritually or whateverly.

We were led, in a long line, into the room where PRISM was taking place.  As our arrival was announced the congregation/audience began to clap, cheer and whoop, something that continued unabated until we were all in and the doors closed.  There was a real sense of welcome and embrace as the folk were, basically, either side and around us.  Words of commission were said to us, we were sung to and then people came a little closer as they prayed - corporately - for us.  Having been blessed, we were released to go "to the other place."

It was good to go to PRISM, because it is part of Assembly.  This was very much a corporate act of welcome and blessing which somehow prepared me for what was ahead, by making me smile and my heart sing.

Walking onto the stage to the strains of 'These are the days of Elijah' was interesting - it probably qualifies as one of my least favourite songs of all time (I think it's theological drivel; there's controversial for you) but it was truly inspiring to see all the people in the auditorium and I felt really uplifted by the experience.

The liturgy that was used felt very meaningful and touched the places it needed to touch.  Not that I can remember it now, but at the time it was great.  The affirmation of so many people praying for us was a very special moment.

I actually happen to like the change in the last couple of years whereby when names are read out ministers leave the stage and go out among the people - to me this symbolises exactly what we are doing.  We are not a gathered elite, rather we are commissioned disciples.

There are as many views (plus 1) as Baptists on whether or not cheering is good at this point.  I have mixed feelings (I so like the fence and have specially designed underwear so I don't get splinters!).  For those who have no one there, it can be a painful reminder of lack of support to hear other people being cheered.  On the other hand, knowing the struggles that many of my friends and colleagues face, that moment of support was equally special.  As the first person to be cheered, I guess in some way I bear some of the responsiblity for the controversy it has managed to evoke in blogland!

The Central and EMBA ministers all stood up when we were to be prayed for among the people and were hastily sat down again!  For me, this bit was less 'real' than the liturgy when we were on the stage, but it was stillgood to know I was being prayed for by friends and strangers alike.

There was for me a truly solemn sense to what was done when we are affirmed and there was also a sense of celebration.  I don't envy the people who create the liturgies (actions and words) as they try to get the balance right.  I suspect God is not overly fussed whether we cheer, whoop or stand in sober silence, so long as we are doing it for good reasons.

Maybe we ought to stop giving each other metaphorical earache over our preferences over style, accepting that difference and diversity are good, Baptist things and start putting our energies into the gospel.

Just a footnote... since I got back I and my church have had a rough week, the few moments on Sunday, solemn and celebratory have strengthened me to face what life/God/whoever has thrown at me.  I don't expect perfection in our liturgies, nor doI expect tolike everything, I don't think the others who comment do either; what matters is that it enables us in some small way to glimpse God - for me, Sunday did that.

Comments

  • I agree about the song 'these are the days', but that was not the only theological drivel we had to sing!

    i think the expression of joy by the congregation was fine, although i wasn't sure about the cry of 'go on my son!' that felt a little out of place.

  • Thanks Andy.

    I feel a 'the ten most theologically drivel hymns and worship songs ever' thread coming on somewhere...

  • I'm really pleased you enjoyed the Prism experience - we worked hard to make it different from the other place. A decade or so ago when I stood on the platform before an Assembly praying for me, I was in tears. It was fantastically moving to think that all these people in some sense supported and owned my ministry among them. None of my church - a poor inner city one in central london - was able to get to Bridlington for the occasion, so no cries of 'go on my son' greeted my hand-shake. But I did feel buoyed up by the affirmation of a thousand-plus people.
    Bring on the ten most theologically inept worship songs thread - I have a long list that I will find difficult to hone down to just 10 but I'll give it a go.

  • Let me start you off with 10 theologically inept lyrics: -

    1. These are the days of Elijah (btw, how does he know?!!!)
    2. God of concrete, God of steel
    3. Praise to the holiest in the height (for the line "and that a higher gift than grace" - impossible!!)
    4. For this purpose (for the line "satan has no authority here." Where does he have authority?)
    5. Within the veil i now would come (for oh so many reasons....)
    6. Come now is the time to worship
    7. Holy Holy Holy is the Lord God almighty (for the verse, Jesus...is the Lord God Almighty??)
    8. Holy Spirit we welcome you
    9. Down the mountain the river flows (???)
    10. Any lyrics with the words "just" or "really want to" anywhere near the beginning of the text, or there at all really.

    Can i suggest two further things: -

    May I humbly suggest the book "And now let's move into a time of nonsense" by Nick Page as a good read on this subject.
    May we commit ourselves to better texts without reverting to 19th century crap / christian "cliff adams singers"? If we want to have theolically literate texts, we most certainly need to have a standard of music that is an improvement on most of the settings of the contemporary hymnody texts.

  • Thanks Paul, I have read, and love, that little book by Nick Page - I've even cited it in a couple of essays!

    Thanks for your contributions.

The comments are closed.