Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

An Experimental Sermon

Every now and then I decide I need a change!  Most of my sermons are pretty straight forward explorations of a text or a theme.  Now and then I try my hand at something more creative.

For our glimpse at Luke's portrait of Jesus I decided on the 'friend of sinners' motif, and eventually landed on the account in Luke 14 of the Shabbat dinner at the home of a Prominent Pharisee.  I did my background reading, wrote my nice straight forward sermon but felt a strong lure towards telling it as a story.  So I did, deciding that as I was writing as an unnamed first person, the 'I' had to be female.  Only as I was writing the sum up at the end did the Luke 5 connection come to mind (so I assume that was the God-given bit).

I tell this story not to you, but to myself, for it is I who need to hear, if I have ears to hear...

Responding to Luke 14.pdf

The comments are closed.