Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Music Wanted... (UPDATED)

This is cheeky and a bit of a long shot, but does anyone who reads this have access to the music for Robert J Stamp's beautiful (if linguistically dated) song 'God and Man at Table are Sat Down'?  I have the word in a words edition of the RC Hymns Old & New on permanent loan from the church where I spent a year working, but I knew it long before that.  It seems not to be in any of the newer worship song books.  As the cheapest copy of the music book I've seen is £15 I'm quite keen to find a "loan" of this one page...

 

Welcome all ye noble Saints of old

As now before your very eyes unfold

The wonders all so long ago foretold.

Chorus: GOD AND MAN AT TABLE ARE SAT DOWN (Repeat)

Elders, martyrs, all are falling down

Prophets, patriachs are gathering round

What angels longed to see, now man has found.

Chorus:

Who is this who spreads the victory feast

Who is this who makes our warring cease

Jesus Risen, Saviour, Prince of Peace.

Chorus:

Beggars, lame, and harlots also here

Repentant publicans are drawing near

Wayward sons come home without a fear.

Chorus:

Worship in the presence of the Lord

With Joyful songs, and hearts in one accord

And let our Host at table be adored.

Chorus:

When at last this earth shall pass away

When Jesus and His Bride are one to stay

The Feast of Love is just begun that day.

Chorus:

 

I can easily enough tweak the non-inclusive bits and keep acceptable theology ("God with us at table is sat down")

 

*** UPDATED *** Thanks to "Mystery Man" Andy (P) I now have the music for this

Comments

  • It's also in the Anglican version of Hymns Old & New. A church I used to be a part of used to sing it fairly recently - and it was a song which I also thought was beautiful.

    I've e-mailed one of the musicians to see if he has the music. If so I'll e-mail it onto you if you let me have your e-mail address.

  • I have the music if you want to let me have your e-mail address.

  • Hi Andy, that's fantastic, thank you.

    Forgive my stupidity, but I'm not sure which Andy you are, so can't simply email you my email address (I don't post it for the world to read). If you're Andy J, then I have a (hopefully working) email; if Andy A I can presumably contact you via one of your colleagues; if Andy G then I'm slightly stumped. If another Andy altogether, well I have to apologise for not recognising you. Whichever Andy you are (!) if you access to a BUGB handbook, I'm in there...

    Please let me know what you think... (apart from the fact that I'm fikkk)

  • Hi Catriona,

    Sorry I thought you could get my e-mail address from the comment box but obviously not. You do know a lot of Andy's but I'm another Andy altogether - a man of mystery me. My BUGB handbook is at church so I will try and pick it up tomorrow.

  • Hi Andy-0f-Mystery, duh I'm so fikkk - drill down far enoguh and I can indeed find the email addresses of people who leave comments. I have emailed you in the conventional way now.

The comments are closed.