Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Sparkly God

I have long been struck by St Augustine's words...

You called, You cried, You shattered my deafness.

You sparkled, You burned, You drove away my blindness.

You shed your fragrance, and I drew in my breath.

Therefore, from now on, I will pant for YOU alone.

 

This week, as I researched stuff for my prayers, I found a website on the Hebrew names of God that said that "Jehovah Nissi" does not simply mean 'God is my Banner' - the standard that flies above me on the battlefield - but effectively  'God who Glistens.'

I like that.  I like the idea of a sparkly God, though I'm not entirely sure what that means visually!  It helped me to make a bit more sense of Augsutines powerful and beautiful words.

I still need to work with what it means to have a sparkly God in the greyness that Habakkuk speaks of, but I'm sure it fits somehow.

Comments

  • I think Augustine's prayers, especially those composed from the Confessions are amongst the best I know for that direct appeal of the longing heart, and the unassuaged yearning after God that is both the blessing and the frustration and thus the glory, of our humanity.

    by the way, thanks for returning the book - the enclosed message was kind, generous - aye even an act of grace. And like grace, undeserved, and thus a sacrament. Hope to meet up with you again one of these days. Blessings

The comments are closed.