Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Vanity, vanity, all is vanity

Thus said the teacher!

On Saturday I am conducting the wedding of a nominal Baptist to a nominal Hindu.  I am excited by this, and it has been great fun working with the couple to prepare a litrugy that embraces that which is good in each faith without compromising my own beliefs.

In each of the other (a whole two!) weddings I've 'done,' the couples have chosen to read their vows from cards, something I encourage as it feels more personal and authentic than the 'repeat after me' approach.  This had been the plan for Saturday until the groom decided he didn't want to wear his glasses and he wouldn't be able to read without them - vanity, vanity, all is vanity!

I leave you with the wedding blessing I'll be using; it's for you to decide whether its origins are Christian, Hindu or both!

May God be your guide as you nourish and sustain each other

May God be your guide as your loves grows stronger

May God be your guide as you grow in grace and maturity

May God be your guide through the joys and sorrows of life

May God be your guide as you cherish and care for children

May God be your guide so that your friendship lasts forever.

 

Comments

  • Sound sgreat - I mlove the blessing. What time is the wedding and would you mind an 'observer'?(If I have time) I am, as you can imagine interested in this from a professional point of view!

  • Hi Julie, you'd be very welcome - though most of it is pretty traditional British (with a touch of Hoolywood, or is that Bollywood?!). I'll send the details by email to avoid a rush of unexpected guests!!

The comments are closed.