Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

More Minor Prophets

Anyone got any suggestions for commentaries on either Haggai or Malachi?

I now have two or three general purpose' minor prophets ones (including one that is scary, deeming itself capable of discerning the outworking of God's wrath on foreign dictators/nations in our own day) but would like some ideas for more focussed reading.

I am contemplating using Haggai's rebuilding the Temple stuff with 1 Peter's 'living stones' (a theme I return to from time to time) and Malachi on God's love and our response - a kind of stewardship thing.  Each is a 'one off' as our autumn is and endless round of specials from harvest to Remembrance to One World Week to Bible Sunday to a pulpit exchange to .... and then it's Christmas.

Any other thoughts or ideas?

Comments

  • OK Catriona. Malachi. There's the massive technical Anchor Bible volume by Andrew Hill which costs multi shekels and will take weeks of rewarding reading. Or there's this modest sized little commentary by G Campbell Morgan called Studies in Malachi: Wherein have we robbed God? Now I've used both of them, and in my moderately humble opinion, Campbell Morgan's exposition is well worth reading. Not because you'll agree with it all; but because he was one of the most astute and spiruitually sensible of the great 'expositors'. And I genuinely don't know any writer who takes both sin and divine love seriously, but know that it is divine love that is to be taken most seriosuly!
    If you are interested, let me know. Now the book is in the College Library, and can be posted to friendly book respecting folk like yourself. If interested let me know by emailing me through my blog.

The comments are closed.