Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Are We Losing the Plot Somewhere?

Popped into my local SPCK today to top up my supply of sympathy cards.  Whilst there I browsed some of the stuff on the shelves... a Christian book on how to handle childhood obesity... a book of Bible Sudoku (looked much like any other sudoku to me, except for the interspersed Bible quizzes.  Try looking on line there are LOADS of Bible sudoku sites)... and so on and such like.

I know I have a large cynical streak, but surely the way to handle childhood obesity is diet and exercise, hardly an exclusively Christian approach.  Sudoku is just sudoku, call it what you like. putting a cross on the cover won't make it more holy, not having one won't make it less so.

Are we really getting so silly that we think the only 'safe' books for Christians to buy come from dedicated shops?  Recently I came across something about a Christian open source 'office' type software package, which did nothing the others don't already do.  Probably there's a Christian blog platform out there somewhere.  It all feels a bit more like ghetto-ising (if there's such a word) than being salt and light.  What do you think?

Comments

  • Hay! Theres a complete Christian Operating System! (Ubuntu - Christian Edition). Its free.....

  • I should have mentioned I don't use it.. I douse Ubuntu though. I got really tired of windows crashing and have been a happy Ubuntu user for over a year. It's free (of course)

  • Plot well and truly lost.

    Maybe we need to get out more... like, er, Jesus!

The comments are closed.