Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Once a member...

Yesterday after the funeral for the former WAF, I got chatting to one of her nephews, a cheery man of around 65 who told me that he's a member of my church.  He couldn't quite remember when he was baptised, but he told how he'd done various things in his teens - including preaching, which it seems was expected at the time.  He hadn't been to church in over 40 years, he reckoned, but he was still a member...

I checked the roll book - he was baptised in July 1956, along with his brother and three or four other people, none of whom attend our church, most attend none.  In the 1960's when the non-active 'B' list was invented, his name was put on that as indicated by a pencilled B by his name; in the early 1970's someone wrote 'LEFT' in the 'comments' column.

So is he a member?  Of the 'one holy catholic and apostolic church' - well, yes, most probably (or definitely in some views of baptism).  Of our church?  I'd have to say 'no'.  He has not fulfilled the responsibilities of membership as defined in the church constitution, so beloved of his former Sunday School teacher.

So what, I wonder, is it that makes him believe that he is still a member?  And what harm might have been done had I been foolish enough to say 'no you're not'?!

Our church had a policy - there is no other word for it - until the 1980's of baptising 15 year olds and chucking them out of Sunday School (which was in the afternoon, separate from services, until the mid 1970's) at 16.  There was, so far as I can tell, never any expectation that they would attend church after this, so it is no real surprise that there are no younger people in the church - the last few were approaching 16 when I arrived.  Yet, having been made members at Baptism, they still consider themselves part of a fellowship they know nothing about.

I don't for a moment think our church is alone in this - just I guess I wish we were more interested in making disicples than members, for that is truly lasting.

Comments

  • I have had someone who has not been here for 40 years + but has returned having worshipped in a variety of other churches in the meantime, and was horrified to hear that she was not still a member when I went to see her to ask about membership..its taken a year but she came back into membership a few weeks ago...

    I guess because we don't emphasise covenant relationship...I like the idea of a yearly renewal so you don't take peoiple off the roll they take themselves...

    I have one member who has been in worship twice in my time but gives regulalrly..what do I do with them?

  • We do have a yearly covenant service (well we have for the years I've been here) but maybe we ought to make a bit more of it - inviting those on our 'B' list along perhaps? Certainly it was our covenant service that led one person to come into membership...

    That's given me food for thought. Thanks.

The comments are closed.