Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Everything Changes...

On Thursday I went to Manchester for a meeting with my university supervisors at my 'old' college.  The place was a building site as there is extensive work in progress to re-model the library, provide additional toilet facilties and (I think) a much needed social area.

The library is looking good. I have to admit, though, part of me is sad to see the demise of the old, slightly musty, wide open spaces that served adequately for generations.  The new look library is definitely more functional and feels more business like, the study areas are better equipped and connecting the books and periodicals areas is good sense.  The most sensible thing is that it is no longer necessary to traipse through the library to reach the chapel, nor will readers be disturbed by singing.  The loss, from my view point, is that the chapel now becomes rather separated from the rest of the building and some of its more delightful aspects may be less apparent - I'll have to see the finished result to know (and I won't be sorry if the fuschia pink and turquoise colour scheme has gone!)

The re-shaping of the library means that the area where I used to sit and work is due to disappear into toilets or something equally functional.  Thankfully, I'm not greatly attached to buildings or places, so I won't feel cheated by this - afterall, I also had to suffer the inadequate loos and social space for four years.

What is good is that the old place will serve a new generation of students and 'house users', that it will continue to change and develop as is needed in the process.  I hope that those who use the new look place will find as much pleasure and fulfilment as I did in my time, and that they, too, will be able to look back with fondness on their time at the minister machine in Manchester.

The comments are closed.