Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Cutting Straight

As posted earlier, I am going to be at a conference later this week where one of the talks is entitled 'rightly handling the word of truth.'  In fact, as part of the planning team, I am involved in setting up a quiet room for those who want/need a bit of space from the speakers or from each other or whatever.  In an attempt to keep some sort of link, I have been hunting down Bible texts that fit the themes ready to put onto cards as prompts for thought, if people want them.

"Rightly handle the word of truth" is a translation of 2 Timothy 2:15 - which of course everyone (except me) already knew.  I looked it up in several translations and then in my trusty Greek-English interlinear, being reminded once again how good it would have been had I ever got to grips with Greek, ah well.

The word used is (in transliteration) 'orthotomounta' which means 'cutting straight' (or, precisely, straight cutting) of the 'word-of-truth' (I have hyphenated as I think that's kind of what the Greek implies - the double use of a 'the' word being important).  The commentators admit it is tricky to translate the intent of the sentence.  I guess there is an easy leap to 'orthodoxy' and a resultant, potentially narrow view of how the 'word-of-truth' so often equated with the Bible (though some translations see it more as 'message' than literal 'word') should be approached.

I feel I need to turn this idea over a bit in my mind - what might 'straight cutting' as a metaphor mean?  No frills preaching?  Only one permitted interpretation?  Exposition? 

Apprarently in everyday Greek, the word was used in relation to road making - preparing the means for people to travel.  That seems to allow for more variety - the straight cut road would be used by people travelling for all sorts of purposes, to and from different places and situations.  The road itself is the same whatever the journey upon it.

A straight line is the shortest distance between two points - so might 'straight cutting' be about making clear connections, avoiding diversions in thought?

* * *

One of the things I like about preparing for services and events is the thought journeys I get to go on myself.  The stuff above doesn't make a whole lot of sense and it hardly cuts straight through anything.  I guess what I am hoping with the quiet room - and my contribution to it - is that other people will have the space to do some wandering and wondering - including what it means to handle appropriately and carefully the timeless message of truth contained within scripture.

The comments are closed.