Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Juggling Hats

44d27471d2c85310364ad44e14393b34.jpgThe old adage - if you want something done, ask a busy person.  Well at the moment, that person seems to be me!  And despite my recollection of half decent clip art of this cliche, the thing on the left is the best I could find today.  Ah well.

Today I have been wearing my "Ministers' Conference Treasurer" hat which, for some mysterious reason, means I make the name badges and juggle the bedroom allocations around to accommodate all the last minute changes - and in a manner that will not trouble those who maintain ministerial disicpline!!

In the allied role of "Ministers' Conference Committee Member" I have been gathering together things for the 'quiet room' which I am co-organising.  My dining table is now hidden by the various objects I will be transporting to Swanwick and back again.

In my role as 'local minister with a vaguely creative streak' I am doing final preprations for the all age interactive worship I am leading at the Association Day in two weeks time.  It has caused amusement to people who've called into Dibley manse to see all the props stacked up in my living room. 

Last week I was at a national committee meeting where I am Association rep, in a couple of weeks I have another where I am a ministerial rep. In between I have to do some interviewing wearing my school governor hat.  Somewhere in amongst all this I am meant to sort out my work proposal for my research for 2007-8 and organise all the Christmas services for Dibley Churches Together.

Most of the time these hats can be worn one at a time then put away for a month or three.  At the moment several have landed all at once.  It is both a pleasure and a privilege to be invited to take on these various roles - they give me lots of interest, keep me out of mischief and bring tremendous rewards.  At the same time, there is always the danger that I'll drop the lot...

So, if you happen to meet me in the next week or two and I seem particularly hassled and scratchy, it could be because I am concentrating totally on keeping all these hats in the air at once...

Comments

  • Just think how bored you would be if you really could get away with working one day a week!

  • I think you forgot to mention being "minister without portfolio" for some people who have lots in their "portfolio" they need a minster's perspective on and don't have one to call their own! Hope the hats are a source of enjoyable variety and don't give you too many headaches.

The comments are closed.