Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Ministerial Muzak? Clergy Chill-out? Music for Meditation?

I have had an amusing few minutes choosing CDs to put in the box to take to Swanwick for the quiet room (Do you play music in a quiet room?  Discuss.).  Will my Eternal Forest CD be too 'New Age' for some folk?  Will Psalms for the Soul or Peaceful Spirits - 25 Gregorian Chants be deemed too liturgical?  Is Karl Jenkins' Armed Man or Garth Hewitt/Paul Field's Dalit Drum too radical?  Or The Best Worship Songs in the World Ever Since We Did The Last Version Volume 63.75 (I exagerate only everso slightly) too noisy? What does help other ministers to chill out, to unwind, to reflect, to meditate, to pray?

In the end I have a stack of two dozen as eclectic, catholic and ecumencial as I am - including some 'secular' stuff and some from the world church.

My own favourites include Karl Jenkins' Armed Man, (did you know the first public perfomance was the day before 9/11?) some Taize, Barber's Adagio for Strings and an early recording by Libera.  The Gregorian chant is wonderful, but 25 tracks is too much all at once, and a few Rutter compilations are always good value, as are some organ pieces.  I also have a few instrumental versions of contemporary worship songs which manage to lose some of the aggressive triumphalism that sung versions can become.  I guess it depends what mood I'm in what I choose to listen to.

I know I'm not going to please everyone with what I offer, and frankly I'm not going to try, I just hope that somewhere in amongst it all is something someone finds helpful and restful.

Comments

  • I am looking forward to this! Thanks for organising it!

  • Can I come too?

    Strangely I've been finding Radio 1 particularly calming over the last fortnight - but that may not please eveyone either.

The comments are closed.