Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

My Old Hobby Horse

I begin to understand better how Biblical scholars feel when preachers massacre texts, or make prouncements based on some dodgey English translation.  Last night at Girls' Brigade I was handed another request for a risk assessment by someone who does not know what she's talking about - and who had the audacity to tell me that something causing fairly minor injury was a high risk.  So I'm back on my hobby horse about this whole area (where I am still one of the best qualified people around) and the Completely Ridiculous Assessment Procedures (you work out the acronym, I couldn't possibly comment) in circulation.

So, if you want something sensible, practical and useable by lay people then get the HSE publication 'Five Steps to Risk Assessment' (available online here) you don't need a load of numbers, what you need is a congruent qualitative argument.  Rocket science it isn't, common sense and good practice it is.

I get the odd snipe from school teachers who think they know better than I in this area; in terms of what local authorities do that is undoubtedly true, in terms of risk assessment and safety culture, well, give me a certain 'hazardous industry' most days of most weeks!

The comments are closed.