Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

How'd That Happen?!

Last Thursday's Church Meeting included sorting our arrangements for services over the holiday period when the school is closed.  Because of how Christmas falls, and because of other complexities, it means we will be out of school for three consecutive Sundays, and January isn't a whole let better!

We began with Sunday 23rd December- would people be around (only about half of them) and would they like to join with another church or do something of our own?  Were we really justified in paying out to hire a room for a dozen people?  Options were listed - join with D+1., join with Meths, join with Anglicans, meet in my house, meet in someone else's house...  next thing I know, we've agreed to join the Methodists in the morning and come to me in the evening for tea and a short service - so now I have an extra servcie to be at (the Meth's one) in a manic week.  How'd that happen?!

December 30th - I am off - and it's almost a 'wasted' free Sunday because they aren't going to hold a service.  This has been practice since we closed the building because it is one Sunday I always take off - along with 99% of ministers I suspect.  I know that about half of my folk will go to one of D+1, D+2 or the Meths; a few will go Penty, the rest will take the day off.  I'm glad as many as half want to go somewhere; I'm also glad we are seen as people who make arrangements for our folk over this period.  As for me, I shall be asleep!

Janaury 6th - we will be at D+6 to farewell one of their ministers and then at D+1 for a joint service - unless we can persuade them that it's too much to do 3 p.m. and 6 p.m in which case only the former.

January 13th we have our own service - which will probably be Covenant - something I think is important.

January 20th I preach at WPCU joint service for Churches Together at Meth's building  I think.

Janaury 27th is World Leprosy Day - and we hope to have raised enough to buy a house in India.

Yeek! That's a twelfth of the way through 2008 without drawing breathe!  How'd that happen too?!

Feeling dizzy yet?  I sure am!!

The comments are closed.