Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Edwin Robertson RIP

Today's Baptist Times carries a death notification for this 95 year-old Baptist minister.  Back in the days when I was studying engineering, he was minister of Westbourne Park Baptist Church in London (John Clifford's place) where I helped out with the Girls' Brigade.  Westbourne Park didn't attract many students, being small, elderly and probably marginally left of centre but "Mr Robertson" and his wife, Ida, made us welcome and served us tea in their tiny manse flat.  My first experience of Baptist life was of warmth (in a cold, damp building!) and openness.

Edwin Robertson began life as a nuclear physicist and became a very respected Bonhoeffer scholar.  I couldn't say he was best the preacher I ever heard, he wasn't, but he was a kind and gracious man who served his Lord and the Baptist family faithfully unitl his death.  I will remember his gentle humour, his smile and his acceptance of his diverse congregation during the early 1980's.  Rest in peace, good and faithful servant.  

Comments

  • It's good to honour faithfulness, and not in any way that denies other gifts and graces. Thanks for affirming the worth and unseen fruitfulness of ministry carried out with unspectacular results - though you're around to tell the tale of such a ministry!

  • I see your friend was honoured by the obituary columns in the Times earlier this week as well - Wednesday, I think.

The comments are closed.