Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Intellect, Imagination and Revelation

Some interesting stuff being posted on the relationship of, specifically, imagination and revelation.  Sean has a wonderful quotation from Barbara Brown Taylor here.  Some of my own 'revelation' moments have certainly cut right through the intellect/imagination left/right brain model in ways that I can't really explain.  Whilst it would be fair to say that they have been involved in the process, I do not think they give rise to it.  I do wonder if there is a danger of confusing powerful emotion with revelation in a similar way to what can happen in charismatic circles.

Anyway, being a scientist type of person and liking digrams (a resource most theologians seem to me to make inadequte use of) I have had a very quick play with these ideas using some venn diagrams here.

Comments

  • You are the only person I know who could turn a discussion about imagination into a venn diagram!

    (I didn't do science past 13 but have produced a Bio-chemist - its all gobbledegook to me!

    Thank God for the variety of people we have! The body of Christ needs us all

    Now back to your diagram and have another go and understanding it

  • LOL as the saying goes. Yup, only I could do that indeed. Can I help it if my imagination is scientific?!

    The diversity is part of God's wonderful creativity... and that's part of the tricky thing about trying to help people tap into their own touchstones.

    Next time I'll try something less mathematical.

The comments are closed.